From The Athletic Director

 
 
Winter 2021-2022 Athletics Information:
 

Parents and Athletes,

 

We are excited to begin our WINTER sports for 2021-2022. Please remember that this will be for students interested in participating in WINTER sports only:  Boys/Girls Basketball, Boys/Girls Swim and Dive, 6th-8th Cheer, and Wrestling.

 

Before all tryouts or workouts, we will check athletes in and make sure they have an IHSAA Athletic Physical on file or collect their new physical at that time.

 

Also make sure you self-screen your athlete prior to sending each day. Our protocols for screening are in the Sports Re-Entry Protocol Yorktown Community Schools Return to Sports Re-entry Protocol. If your athlete exhibits any symptoms, they need to stay home and reference the 2 new additional documents from the Delaware County Board of Health that speaks to symptoms and returning: School Screening symptoms flyer and Student Guidance for Return to School-Activities. It is critical that YOU DO NOT allow your athlete to attend if they are not feeling well.

 

There have been questions on when teams will be conducting their activity days or tryouts. Schedules are as follows and if you have questions, please contact the listed coach:

 

7th and 8th Boys' Basketball: Tryouts begin Monday, October 25th. 7th Grade will be 3:00PM-4:30PM and 8th will be 6:00PM-7:30PM.

7th Grade Coach Karcher at jkarcher@yorktown.k12.in.us

8th Grade Coach Turner at rbturner83@gmail.com

 

Wrestling: Practice will begin on Monday, November 15th. Time to be determined.

Coach Boone at dboone617@gmail.com

 

Cheerleading: 7th and 8th Cheer will practice at Coach Bering's discretion. 6th Cheer Tryouts will be on October 27th and October 29th from 4:45-6:00PM

Coach Bering at gbering@yorktown.k12.in.us

Coach Lynn at breannaslaven43@gmail.com

 

7th and 8th Girls' Basketball: Tryouts Begins Monday, November 1st from 4:30-6:00PM.

8th Grade Coach Turner at lantrn.2.11.4.06@gmail.com

7th Grade Coach Mote at mmote1@yorktown.k12.in.us

 

6th Grade Boys' Basketball: Tryouts begin on Monday, November 15th from 3:00-4:30PM.

Coach Thurston at cthurston@yorktown.k12.in.us

 

6th Grade Girls' Basketball: Tryouts begin on Tuesday, January 4th. Time to be determined.

Coach Gaddis at kalleg44@hotmail.com

 

Swim and Dive: Practice begins on Tuesday, January 4th. Time to be determined.

Coach Gernand at ryangernand@gmail.com

 

Please do not hesitate to reach out to our athletic office if you have questions:

Dustin Moody dmoody@yorktown.k12.in.us 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For information regarding schedules, please visit https://yorktownathletics.com/